Fabric Patriotic Wreath

With Memorial Day coming up I wanted to make something patriotic for the  front porch. My boyfriend is in the Army and he loves anything red, white, and blue. Our kitchen dishes are even patriotic. I love the burlap and ribbon wreaths but those supplies add up and can become costly pretty quickly. I try to save money whenever possible and being frugal can be a challenge. I decided to try to use some old fabric scraps I had laying around. I already had a wire wreath form from an old Christmas wreath so I did not buy any supplies. However, the wire form can be found at craft stores such as Hobby Lobby or Michael’s for only a few dollars.

You will need:

One 12″ wire wreath form

Half a yard red fabric or fabric of your choosing

Half a yard blue fabric or fabric of your choosing

Scissors

Once I gathered my supplies I started cutting. I cut strips about 1 1/2 inches wide by 8 inches  long. I cut as I went so I am not sure the exact amount I cut. I folded the fabric in half and then cut the top to make it more efficient.

IMG_3262

IMG_3269

Once you have your strips cut you can start attaching them to the wreath. Fold each strip in half and place over the form, then loop the ends through the top around the wire.

Personal preference is also a factor in this wreath. If you like short strips over long ones, or a fuller wreath compared to a sparer one.

IMG_3268

It should look something like this after. Pull it tight to keep the fabric secure so it doesn’t fall off easily.

IMG_3263

I did red and white every other on 3/4 of the form. I left the rest for the blue fabric.

IMG_3270

On the wire on the inside of the form I added more decorative fabric. Keep adding more strips and scrunching the fabric together to make the wreath more full.

IMG_3267

I repeated the same steps for the blue fabric, however I alternated between two different patterns. It only took me an hour or two to make this, it was so easy!

You can switch up the patterns however you like depending on what fabric you have on hand. Experiment with different colors of fabric! This design could also work with school colors for a graduation party, or yellow for a nice summer feel. I also want to add something in the middle, perhaps a wooden USA. Keep it simple or jazz it up it is all up to you!

Have fun crafting and creating, stay tuned for more DIY ideas!

Leave a comment